2015 Accessibility Ally Award

Eve Nichols
Interim President Devinder Malhotra and Eve Nichols

The 2015 Accessibility Ally Award was presented to Disability Services Director Eve Nichols on April 28. Nichols has been providing excellent leadership and services to Metropolitan State University through the Disability Services Office for many years and is retiring later this year after a long history of advocacy and support of students and good institutional practice. During her time here, she has made significant contributions to university instructional design, student services and campus facilities in support of the success of students with disabilities.

Here is what some of the nominators said about Nichols:

“When working with students with disabilities, she is clear about rights and accommodations; yet, in her motherly way, she always has specific advice of wisdom on how to help an individual succeed both in school and in life. From Eve, I learn strength, humor and dignity.”

“I admire her commitment to students, to training faculty and to looking for innovative, cost-effective solutions. She is a helpful and thoughtful colleague who has made a significant contribution to the university.”

“College should change people and Eve has been a wonderful mentor to both students and colleagues. I can say that she has changed my life by encouraging me to do more in my job and by challenging me to look at things through a different lens. I have seen her do the same with students and with other employees. Her most important attribute is what she passes on to others.”