Plan your commute around 1-94 closures

I-94 overnight closure April 21 and ramp closure update

Overnight Closures

Be ready for overnight closures beginning April 21. These closures are needed as crews shift traffic and prepare for work ahead.

  • Beginning at 7 p.m., the left lane of eastbound I-94 between Marion St. and Mounds Blvd. will be closed until 10 p.m.
  • Beginning at 10 p.m., the double right lane of eastbound I-94 between Marion St. and Mounds Blvd. will be closed until 5 a.m. Friday.
  • Two ramps will be closed between 10 p.m. Thursday and 5 a.m. Friday. These include the northbound Hwy 52 ramp to eastbound I-94 and the Broadway St. ramp to eastbound I-94.
  • Beginning at 7 p.m., the right lane of westbound I-94 between TH 61 and Mounds Blvd. will be closed until 6 a.m. Friday.

Ramp Closures and Detours

Beginning at 10 p.m. Thursday, April 21, crews will close the eastbound I-94 ramp to E. 7th Street in St. Paul. This closure was delayed from earlier this week. Crews have posted a detour.  We’ll reopen this ramp by early June, weather permitting.

Over the next several weeks, the following ramp closures will be in effect. Each closure is expected for 2 weeks.

  • Beginning at 7 a.m. Monday, April 25, the Century Ave. ramp to eastbound I-94 will be closed. Crews will have posted a detour.
  • Beginning at 9 a.m. Monday, April 25, the westbound I-94 ramp to Century Ave. will be closed. Crews will have posted a detour.
  • Beginning at at 9 a.m. Wednesday, April 27, the westbound I-94 ramp to Ruth St. will be closed. Crews will have posted a detour.
  • Beginning at 7 a.m. Friday, April 29, the eastbound I-94 ramp to White Bear Ave. will be closed. Crews will have posted a detour.

Closure durations and time frames are all approximate and weather dependent.

Once the project kicks into full gear in the next several weeks, crews will close the westbound lanes of I-94 and provide at least two lanes of traffic in each direction traveling on the eastbound lanes.

For more information about the project, visit http://www.dot.state.mn.us/metro/projects/i94stpaul/

Follow on Twitter @mndotnews for ramp and lane closures.

For real-time travel information anywhere in Minnesota, visit 511mn.org.