Detour change for southbound Highway 52/Lafayette Bridge closure

Beginning 10 p.m. Friday, Sept. 16, southbound Highway 52/Lafayette Bridge will close between Interstate 94 and Plato Boulevard south of the river. The bridge, which crosses the Mississippi River east of downtown Saint Paul, will reopen by 5 a.m. Mon, Sept. 19, weather permitting.

There has been a change in the detour information for this weekend’s closure of the southbound Highway 52/Lafayette bridge in Saint Paul. With the closure of the 6th St. entrance into downtown St. Paul, westbound I-94 traffic should use Mounds Boulevard and Kellogg Boulevard to reach the downtown area. Westbound I-94 traffic can also use either I-494 or Highway 61 to reach Highway 52 from east of Saint Paul.

Also,  bridge traffic will be restricted to carry out inspection activities. You should expect some delays early next week while workers cary out in-depth inspections of the bridge. Inspectors will work from 9:30 a.m. to 2 p.m., Sept. 19 to Sept. 22. During the work, traffic will be restricted to a single lane between I-94 and Plato Boulevard.

This is the first major inspection of the bridge since it was built and opened to traffic late last year. Inspection activities will be cancelled in case of high winds or other inclement weather. It is recommended that drives use an alternate route or follow the detour signs to reach their destination.

The other detour routes remain the same:

  • Eastbound I-94/southbound I-35 East: South on Highway 61, west on I-494 to Highway 52.
  • 7th St: Mounds Blvd to eastbound I-94 and follow the eastbound I-94 detour.
  • CHANGE: Westbound I-94: Mounds Boulevard to Kellogg Boulevard to downtown St. Paul. Use I-494 or Highway 61 to reach Highway 52.

The closure is necessary to apply a coating to the concrete driving surface of the bridge.