Interstate 94 East traffic changes begin June 23

Traffic change details

Project milestone: Beginning Friday, June 23, westbound traffic on Interstate 94 will be switched to the newly-paved westbound lanes. This is the first in a series of traffic changes that will occur between June 23 and June 30. The changes are needed to set up the traffic pattern that will allow construction crews to begin resurfacing all eastbound I-94 travel lanes between Saint Paul and Maplewood in early July.

Drivers will encounter the following lane and ramp closures over the next week in the project area:

Beginning June 22:

Lane closure: Starting 9 a.m., June 22, the right lane on northbound Highway 120/Century Avenue will be closed from just south of I-94 to 3M/Innovation Road for approximately three weeks. The closure is needed to provide work space for crews to construct the trail on the east side of the road.

Beginning June 23:

Lane closure: The right lane (local access lane) and all ramps on westbound I-94 between Highway 120/Century Avenue and Mounds Boulevard will be closed through 5 a.m., June 24. During this time, all westbound I-94 traffic will be routed to the far left lane. Once these closures are lifted, most ramps will reopen and motorists will have three travel lanes on westbound I-94.

Ramp closures: The following westbound I-94 entrance and exit ramps will be closed through August 2017, unless otherwise noted. These closures are necessary to maintain a safe traffic flow on I-94 during construction.

Hudson Road to westbound I-94 (the far east entrance ramp in front of 3M) White Bear Avenue to westbound I-94. This closure will be in place through fall 2017.

Beginning June 24:

Crews will be relocating the moveable barrier from eastbound I-94 to westbound I-94 as part of preparing for the next construction stage. From Saturday morning, June 24, through Thursday evening, June 29, there will be three eastbound travel lanes and three westbound travel lanes on I-94.

Beginning June 29:

Lane closure: The right lane (local access lane) and all ramps on eastbound I-94 between Mounds Boulevard and Highway 120/Century Avenue will be closed beginning at 9 p.m., June 29 through 5 a.m., June 30. During this time, eastbound I-94 between St. Paul and Maplewood will be reduced to a single lane of traffic. After these closures are lifted, most ramps will reopen and eastbound I-94 will be set up in the traffic pattern that will be in place through August 2017.

Ramp closures: The following eastbound I-94 entrance/exit ramps are currently closed and will remain closed through fall 2017:

  • McKnight Rd. to eastbound I-94
  • NB/SB Hwy 61 to eastbound I-94

Be prepared to choose a lane

Starting on Friday morning, June 30, motorists on eastbound I-94 should be prepared to choose a lane.

Drivers exiting within the 5-mile project area between Mounds Boulevard and Highway 120/Century Avenue should stay in the right lane and follow the “local access, stay right” signs.

Drivers traveling beyond Highway 120/Century Avenue should remain in the left lanes and follow the “through traffic, stay left” signs.

Watch this brief video before driving in the area.

Closure durations and time frames are all approximate and weather dependent.

Stay connected

Visit www.511mn.org for real-time travel information anywhere in Minnesota.